R.I.P. Christopher “Notorious B.I.G.” Wallace

At times it feels like it was just yesterday I heard the tragic news. The truth is it was 13 years ago today, March 9th, 1997, that Christopher Wallace, aka The Notorious B.I.G., died as the result of gunshot wounds from a still unsolved drive-by shooting.

B.I.G. was such an impressive personality and now an iconic figure in global popular culture – which makes it difficult to comprehend that he was only 24-years-old when he died, just months short of 25 – nearly the same age I am now. Considering how much Biggie accomplished by the time he died at 24, makes me take pause to think about my life and dreams.

Perhaps most astonishing is how awesome Biggie’s music still sounds to this day. It’s been over 15 years since the world first heard that instantly recognizable voice and flow through their speakers and headphones – yet new generations across the world are still discovering just how ill he was. The trends he started and the influence he’s had on music and pop culture are immeasurable – just ask Jay-Z, arguably one of the best, if not the best, hip-hop artists alive today, who constantly recites Biggie lyrics and references in his own music.

Thanks, Biggie

…for the music, the swagger, & truly giving your life for your art; For a dream.

Comments
One Response to “R.I.P. Christopher “Notorious B.I.G.” Wallace”
  1. makinda webi says:

    thanks for this post. biggie will never die in my heart too. truely the illest mc i’ve heard.

Love it? Hate it? TELL ME!

